It is currently Mon 20. Nov 2017, 21:55


All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Starting with PLCBUS
PostPosted: Fri 22. Apr 2011, 18:08 
Offline

Joined: Sat 20. Nov 2010, 23:51
Posts: 25
Regarding your first question, you are correct. the interface listens on the bus and brings via USB/232 all PlcBus messages it finds.

About the getting hot while receiving, I didn't check it, but according to guru's explanation, I think it would require sending a pulse to generate the heat.

Should be easy to verify if you have a scene module and an interface. just keep sending scenes and then check the interface for heat.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Starting with PLCBUS
PostPosted: Mon 25. Apr 2011, 16:56 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue 11. Aug 2009, 13:18
Posts: 175
The interface just goes hot while sending commands.

Yes - PLC-BUS interface is an eavesdropper!
Each PLC-BUS command on the bus can you receive with the PLC-BUS interface.

But ACK pulse, ID pulse or ON pulse are not a PLC-BUS command.
The ACK is just one PLC-BUS impulse on the bus.
The PLC-BUS interface generates a complete RS232 message from this one impulse!

When other PLC-BUS controller (e.g. mini controller) sends a command, you can receive this command with the PLC-BUS interface – it is like the bus echo, but the interface does not handle the ACK. So you do not receive an ACK message from PLC-BUS interface on the RS232 interface.

Quote:
The ACK Pulse
The ACK Pulse is a single PLC-BUS Pulse that is generated in Position #3 of the PLC-BUS Frame immediately following the end of a PLC-BUS Message. Its purpose is to indicate to a transmitting device that the intended receiving device accepted the PLC-BUS Communication Packet. A PLC-BUS device only generates the ACK Pulse when it receives and accepts a PLC-BUS Communication Packet that has the ACK-bit set to 1.

Quote:
The ID Pulse
The ID Pulse is a single PLC-BUS Pulse that is generated in Position #3 of the PLC-BUS Frame (immediately following the end of a PLC-BUS Message) that corresponds to the receiving device’s Unit ID. For instance, if the receiving device’s Unit ID is 4 then it will generate its ID Pulse 4 frames (AC half-cycles) after the end of the received PLC-BUS Message.

_________________
www.p-b-e.de


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Starting with PLCBUS
PostPosted: Wed 15. Jun 2011, 00:07 
Offline

Joined: Sat 16. Oct 2010, 22:30
Posts: 22
Location: Poland
OK, I had a little break from PLCBUS but I'm back now.

I have made an observation that might be obvious but I'd like a confirmation.

The UserCode value is meant to distinguish between different homes that might be close enough to receive each others data.
The HomeUnit value is meant to distinguish between different devices in one home.

So if I set up a system in my own house I always set the UserCode to some constant value and setup all the devices with that UserCode value and a different HomeUnit value for each device.

Is that correct? I find the names misleading...

_________________
Best regards,
QmQ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Starting with PLCBUS
PostPosted: Mon 20. Jun 2011, 23:12 
Offline

Joined: Sat 20. Nov 2010, 23:51
Posts: 25
QmQ,

My understanding is that devices ignore commands with a different user code (i.e. 3 phase coupler which usually just forwards the command/response onward)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Starting with PLCBUS
PostPosted: Tue 21. Jun 2011, 07:39 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue 11. Aug 2009, 13:18
Posts: 175
You must know PLC-BUS use the same addresses as X10 (home code, unit code) and extended these with the user code.
All modules they want work together must have set up the same user code.

So it is possible to have more installation with different user codes at same house. E.g. one house has more flats!

_________________
www.p-b-e.de


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Starting with PLCBUS
PostPosted: Sun 26. Jun 2011, 15:39 
Offline

Joined: Sat 16. Oct 2010, 22:30
Posts: 22
Location: Poland
PLCBUSguru wrote:
You must know PLC-BUS use the same addresses as X10 (home code, unit code) and extended these with the user code...


Thanks for that valuable piece of information!

_________________
Best regards,
QmQ


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Imprint