It is currently Thu 24. Jul 2014, 03:08

All times are UTC + 1 hour

Post subject: Starting with PLCBUS
PostPosted: Sat 16. Oct 2010, 23:46 

Hi everybody,

My name is James. I'm a programmer/software developer from Poland. I'm not very experienced in electronics, but I learn quickly and have a good basic knowledge of the subject. Just not too much practise. I must also say that I very much prefer to play with the software part.
I'm very happy to have found this place :mrgreen: - information about PLC and specifically PLCBUS is abundant but very general which makes it quite hard to understand it.

I'm currently in the middle of market research with the goal of building my own home control system. After reading a lot of articles and going through many pages I have decided that utilizing the power line will be the best solution. A not so quick review of existing technologies left me with only two options: X10 and PLCBUS. I've chosen the latter for reasons everybody here know :). I must say that Insteon looked very nice, but it's only available in the US so that's not an option.

There are a few things about PLC(BUS) I haven't been able to find out. Maybe you can help me with some answers? :)

1. I don't know how a home power line is build, but I do know all power lines meet in the "fuse box" (no idea what the correct term is). Does PLC data go through that box? There are actually three questions here:
1.1 How can I secure my data from going outside and prevent signals from the outside?
1.2 What if my neighbour wants a PLCBUS system too - interference?
1.3 Will data be able to pass through that box inside the house? For example from the kitchen to the bedroom via the box? Like so:
Kitchen ------------------ [BOX] --------------- Bedroom

2. I'd like to "play" with PLCBUS. What do I need to start, possibly cheap? My guess is:
-PLCBUS controller
-PLCBUS lamp module (ON/OFF to start simple)
-PC to control it (this I have)